Catalysis in Lyon

The history of catalysis in Lyon was shaped by Marcel Prettre, who was named Professor of Industrial Chemistry at the Lyon Faculty of Sciences shortly prior to WWII.

At the time, catalysis was carried out in Lyon’s university and industrial research laboratories as a technique leading to a particular reaction product, rather than as a science with the aim of understanding the nature of the catalyst and its role in the reaction mechanism. In the field of organic chemistry, nickel or “platinum black” hydrogenation catalysts, as well as chromium or vanadium oxide oxidation catalysts, to cite only these two types of reactions, were well known and were studied only in terms of yield and selectivity. The intimate reaction mechanism and the nature of the solid state of the catalyst were often unknown. The true study of the steps of the catalytic reaction in relation to the state of the catalyst was initiated only around the 1940s in the Laboratory of Industrial Chemistry. Its incumbent was not initially an expert in this domain, however. His specialisation, acquired during his doctoral research in Paris, was in combustion mechanisms. The school of combustion, directed at this time by the students of Professor Paul Pascal and later by P. Laffitte, has acquired an international renown. The Lyon school of catalysis was thus created ab nihilo for the benefit of its researchers, who later spread their influence throughout France and the rest of the world.
The war years, which obviously were not favourable for the development of research of any kind, let alone in a new field, nevertheless saw the beginning of the Laboratory of Industrial Chemistry’s studies of Fischer-Tropsch catalysis based on M. Prettre’s hypothesis of methane participation. Even though, upon later reprisal by American researchers (P. H. Emmett), this hypothesis could not be confirmed using isotopes (which had not been available to the Lyon laboratory), trans-Atlantic attention was brought to the Lyon group. M. Prettre could therefore justify organising the first international congress on adsorption and heterogeneous catalysis in Lyon in 1949, the participants of which included the personalities of the catalysis world and, naturally, the researchers from Lyon’s Laboratory of Industrial Chemistry. The dice had been tossed, and the Lyon school prospered, taking on increasingly honourable ranking in the field of adsorption and heterogeneous catalysis.
The American organisers of the First International Congress on Catalysis, which took place in Philadelphia in 1956, invited to participate two Lyon researchers, Y. Trambouze and S. Teichner, and one At this time an event of considerable importance occurred in Lyon. The CNRS-financed construction of the Institut de Recherches sur la Catalyse (IRC) provided the research possibilities and the buildings hoped for by the university’s school of catalysis and its director, Marcel Prettre. In this Institute, the Lyon teams were joined by those originating from the Parisian laboratory of Professor Laffitte (B. Imelik). In approximately three years, the Institute was not only constructed on the former site of the Villeurbanne racetrack, but its laboratories were fully equipped in heavy and semi-heavy research materials (electronic microscopy, X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, mass spectrometry, various spectroscopies - such as I.R. et U.V - allowing the direct investigation of the catalytic reaction, microcalorimetry, and radiochemistry). The creation of CNRS positions for engineers, technicians and administrative personnel (ITA) quickly made these various research techniques operational and made it possible to accommodate many researchers.Institut Français du Pétrole researcher (J.-Cl. Balaceanu, who later became director of the IFP).

At this time an event of considerable importance occurred in Lyon. The CNRS-financed construction of the Institut de Recherches sur la Catalyse (IRC) provided the research possibilities and the buildings hoped for by the university’s school of catalysis and its director, Marcel Prettre. In this Institute, the Lyon teams were joined by those originating from the Parisian laboratory of Professor Laffitte (B. Imelik). In approximately three years, the Institute was not only constructed on the former site of the Villeurbanne racetrack, but its laboratories were fully equipped in heavy and semi-heavy research materials (electronic microscopy, X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, mass spectrometry, various spectroscopies - such as I.R. et U.V - allowing the direct investigation of the catalytic reaction, microcalorimetry, and radiochemistry). The creation of CNRS positions for engineers, technicians and administrative personnel (ITA) quickly made these various research techniques operational and made it possible to accommodate many researchers.

The creation of IRC in Lyon was viewed by American researchers as a clear challenge. Under the direction of Professor P. H. Emmett, a committee canvassed industries and American public organisations (NSF) in the hopes of assembling the funds necessary for a comparable institute. The large industrial companies involved in catalysis were firmly opposed to this project, however, due to the risk of “brain drain” toward such an Institute and due to their fear of revelation of industrial secrets following patent registration by the institute.

La catalyse à Lyon

L’histoire de la « catalyse lyonnaise » est liée à la personne de Marcel Prettre qui a été nommé Professeur de chimie industrielle à la Faculté des sciences de Lyon peu de temps avant la guerre de 1939.

Vers la création de l’IRC

En effet, la catalyse était alors pratiquée dans les laboratoires de recherche universitaires et industriels lyonnais comme un moyen technique d’aboutissement à un produit de la réaction et non pas comme une science dont le rôle est d’approfondir la nature du catalyseur et de son intervention dans le mécanisme réactionnel. Dans le domaine de la chimie organique les catalyseurs d’hydrogénation au nickel ou au « noir de platine » ou ceux d’oxydation aux oxydes de chrome ou de vanadium, pour ne citer que ces deux types de réactions, étaient bien connus et ne suscitaient pas d’autres études que celles liées au rendement réactionnel et à la sélectivité. Le mécanisme réactionnel intime et la nature de l’état solide du catalyseur étaient souvent ignorés. La véritable étude des étapes de la réaction catalytique en relation avec l’état du catalyseur n’a commencé que vers les années 1940 dans le laboratoire de chimie industrielle. Son titulaire n’était pourtant pas, à l’origine, un expert dans ce domaine. Sa spécialité acquise pendant les recherches conduisant à sa thèse de doctorat, à Paris, était orientée sur les mécanismes de la combustion. L’école de la combustion, dirigée à cette époque par les élèves du professeur Paul Pascal et puis par P. Laffitte a acquis une renommée internationale L’école lyonnaise de la catalyse a été ainsi créée « ab nihilo » pour le plus grand bien des chercheurs formés dans cette école qui ont par la suite essaimé en France et dans le monde entier.
Les années de guerre, qui cependant n’étaient pas propices au développement de recherches de toute nature et surtout dans un domaine nouveau, ont vu néanmoins dans le laboratoire de Chimie Industrielle le démarrage des études sur la catalyse Fischer-Tropsch avec l’hypothèse de la participation du méthane dans cette synthèse. Bien que cette hypothèse, reprise par la suite par des chercheurs américains (P.H.Emmett), n’a pu être confirmée au moyen d’emploi d’isotopes qui à l’époque n’étaient pas à la portée du laboratoire lyonnais, elle a permis de faire connaître le groupe lyonnais outre Atlantique. C’est ainsi que M.Prettre a eu suffisamment d’arguments pour organiser à Lyon, en 1949, le premier congrès international sur l’adsorption et la catalyse hétérogène, auquel, ont participé des sommités mondiales de la catalyse et, bien entendu, les chercheurs lyonnais issus du laboratoire de Chimie Industrielle. Les « dés ont ainsi été jetés » et l’école lyonnaise a commencé à prospérer en prenant un rang de plus en plus honorable dans le domaine de l’adsorption et de la catalyse hétérogène.
C’est ainsi que les organisateurs américains du premier Congrès International de Catalyse, à Philadelphie en 1956, ont invité à participer deux chercheurs lyonnais Y.Trambouze et S Teichner ainsi que J.C. Balaceanu, devenu plus tard directeur de l’IFP.

A cette même époque un évènement considérable est intervenu à Lyon. L’école universitaire de la catalyse et son directeur M.Prettre ont vu concrétiser leurs espoirs, en moyens de recherche et en locaux, par la construction de l’Institut de Recherches sur la Catalyse (IRC) grâce aux fonds du CNRS. Dans cet Institut les équipes lyonnaises ont été rejointes par celles venant du laboratoire parisien du professeur Laffitte (B.Imelik). En trois années environ non seulement l’Institut est sorti de terre sur l’ancien site de l’hippodrome de Villeurbanne, mais ses laboratoires se sont entièrement équipés en matériel de recherche lourd et semi-lourd (microscopie électronique, spectroscopie X et de masse, diverses spectroscopies d’investigation directe de la réaction catalytique comme I.R. et U.V., microcalorimétrie, radiochimie). La création des postes CNRS dans les catégories ingénieurs, techniciens et administratifs (ITA) a permis de rendre rapidement opérationnelles les diverses techniques de recherche et d’accueillir un nombre important de chercheurs.

L’impact de la création de l’IRC à Lyon a été ressenti aux États-Unis comme un défi. Sous la direction du professeur P.H.Emmett a été constitué un comité qui a multiplié des interventions auprès des industriels et des organismes publics américains (NSF) afin de réunir des fonds pour la création d’un Institut comparable. Mais les grandes sociétés industrielles actives en catalyse se sont fermement opposées à ce projet en faisant essentiellement ressortir le danger de la « fuite des cerveaux » vers cet Institut et de la prise des brevets par l’Institut qui, dans le cas de la recherche commune avec l’industrie, aurait dévoilé des secrets de fabrication.