Pioneering studies

Paul Sabatier achieved a long series of studies that would eventually lead to a general method of direct hydrogenation by catalysis, and that would earn their originator the Nobel Prize in 1912.

Until then, hydrogenation methods had been limited to the use of nascent hydrogen or to catalysis by platinum.
This method is attractive for several reasons:
1- it is simple, using simple techniques and ordinary equipment, presents no danger and leads to good yields (Sabatier took out seven patents).
2- it renders possible certain very worthwhile reactions, and would eventually lead to a great number of industrial applications, in France and abroad.
3- it allows a theoretical interpretation, in which Sabatier proposed a reaction mechanism based on the hypothesis of intermediate combinations. Let us note that bi-dimensional chemical compounds of defined composition and structure, reaction intermediates (metallic formiates) inaccessible via kinetic methods, would be observed at the surface of catalysts, in the early 1960s.
“I acknowledge that hydrogen acts on the metal by very rapidly creating a combination on its surface. The hydride thus created is easily and rapidly dissociable, and if it is put into contact with materials able to use hydrogen, it releases the hydrogen to them while regenerating the metal, which, in turn, indefinitely has the same effect.”
This purely chemical explanation contrasted with the proposition of Moissan and Duclaux, who imagined a physical adsorption of reagents on the catalyst, an explanation which, emphasized Sabatier, would exclude all phenomena occurring in a homogeneous system. According to him, there must not exist “fundamental differences between the various types of catalysis.”
The method of direct hydrogenation led to an impressive number of applications, particularly abroad, to such a degree that B. Wojtkowiak identified Sabatier as the “leader of the modern school of heterogeneous catalysis.” [4] . A lively example merits special mention. In a patent registered in 1915, Sabatier and Maihle had identified a catalytic cracking process for hydrocarbons preferable to thermal cracking, and recommended the use of divided metals or of oxides capable of forming them, associated with an in situ catalyst revivification technique using water vapour. This method was of great industrial value in the United States and, in particular, permitted the fabrication of great quantities of gasoline for WWII aviation. The story must, however, be completed: only one French pharmacist showed interest in this process, and only one young industry man, who was interested in automobile racing, built a pilot unit in the suburbs of Paris and proved that a considerable increase in octane points was possible thereby. This installation, which elicited no interest from any petroleum company in France or Navarre, was reconstituted in the United States, and so the fixed-bed Houdry process was put into operation at the Paulsboro refinery, near Philadelphia. As of 1936, Sun Oil was therefore the first company in the world to operate a catalytic cracking unit.
In addition to the applications in the fuels industry, which evolved as we know starting around 1930, Sabatier’s hydrogenation method had an important impact on the industries of organic synthesis and of glycols, as well as on the industries derived from aniline (dyes and pharmaceuticals) and from methane. In 1944, H. S. Taylor saluted Sabatier as well as France: “Paul Sabatier’s glory lay in holding very high among nations the scientific renown of France. The hydrogenation of oils, methanol synthesis, catalytic etherification, the synthesis of amines and of thiols, the hydrogenation of olefins, all of the modern applications of catalysis to hydrocarbons come directly from the works of Sabatier and of his students.”
As Sabatier himself recognized, his explanation based on temporary unstable combinations took hypothetical products into account. It was nonetheless very fruitful, and allowed the prediction of a great number of phenomena. Is this not the attribute of a good theory?

At the beginning of the 20th century, catalysis progressed in an essentially empirical manner: BASF tested at least 2000 catalysts throughout 6000 experiments before retaining the iron catalyst that would permit the industrial fabrication of ammonia from atmospheric nitrogen. The comprehension of the phenomenon barely advanced, however: Sabatier’s theory of purely chemical mechanisms, which contrasted with Moissan’s theory of physical adsorption of the reagents, in which the reagents were compressed and heated in the pores of the catalyst mass, was criticized by Ostwald [5]. Soon after, Langmuir published a theory of chemisorption that took into account the physical conditions [6]. With none of these theories furnishing sufficient proof, it was barely possible to be taken seriously when one focused on catalysis. … Though most of the technical progress in industrial chemistry accomplished from the beginning to the century to this point was due to contact catalysis, progress in the knowledge of phenomena would be the result of advances in homogeneous catalysis.

Catalysis has had difficulty asserting itself as a specific field of scientific activity or as a teaching or research department. For catalysis is based essentially on the following constituent paradox: it involves numerous phenomena involving physics and multiple sectors of chemistry, and meanwhile, immense areas of chemical industry employ catalytic operations. This means that, at the foundation, catalysis will be better handled in industrial chemistry by the apprehension of processes than in treatises on physical chemistry.

Even though as early as 1927, Sabatier began to publish his Notes in the C.R. de l’Académie des Sciences under the heading Catalysis, and no longer under Organic Chemistry, it was only in the 1950s that catalysis was considered a true subject. At this time Paul H. Emmett edited a collective work entitled Catalysis, the first two volumes of which were dedicated to the fundamental principles and the theories of homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis [7]. As he said in the opening, even if the importance and the number of catalytic processes employed by industry could, in and of themselves, be sufficient to justify the publication of a treatise on catalysis, it was, in fact, the progress in the understanding of catalysis that made it necessary to publish a current state of the art. Even though the scientific foundation of catalysis was not yet firmly established at that stage, the new progress in the field, in particular the establishment of a relationship between the activity and the electronic structure of a solid, made it possible to write a clear, intelligible summary of the theory and practice of catalysis.

2nd International Congress on Catalysis
The Second International Congress on Catalysis held in Paris in 1960 was an important event was organised in France and presided by Marcel Prettre. Nine hundred scientists from about thirty countries in the world were reunited in Paris. The Acts, published in 1961, would come to occupy almost 3000 pages. After evoking the two main categories of contributions to the advancement of the knowledge of the catalytic solid, Prettre pointed out that, despite certain disagreements between theory and experiment, it was important to continue to adapt solid state investigation techniques (electric measurements, infrared spectroscopy, calorimetry) to the special challenges of catalysis. It was also necessary to make efficient measurements and, during interpretation of results, to take into account the extreme variability of the process depending on the experimental domain. Though it was still far from possible to establish a general theory of contact catalysis, considerable progress had been made since the previous congress, particularly regarding the knowledge of the two-dimensional compounds of the intermediate step. Decidedly, despite its extreme complexity, heterogeneous catalysis was no longer very far removed from homogeneous catalysis, in terms of its representation of intermediate steps and of the state of its knowledge.

Travaux pionnier

Sabatier effectuera une longue série de travaux qui aboutiront à une méthode générale d’hydrogénation directe par catalyse, et qui vaudront à leur auteur le prix Nobel en 1912. Jusqu’alors, les méthodes d’hydrogénation se limitaient à l’utilisation de l’hydrogène naissant ou la catalyse par le platine.

Jusqu’alors, les méthodes d’hydrogénation se limitaient à l’utilisation de l’hydrogène naissant ou la catalyse par le platine.. Cette méthode est intéressante à plusieurs niveaux :
1- elle est simple, met en oeuvre une technique simple, nécessite un appareillage ordinaire, ne présente pas de danger et donne de bons rendements. Sabatier prit sept brevets.
2- elle réalise des réactions de grand intérêt, et donnera lieu à de très nombreuses applications industrielles, en France et à l’étranger.
3- elle donne lieu à une interprétation théorique, dans laquelle Sabatier fournit un mécanisme réactionnel reposant sur l’hypothèse de combinaisons intermédiaires. Signalons que des composés chimiques bidimensionels à composition et structure définies, intermédiaires de réactions (formiates métalliques) inaccessibles par les méthodes cinétiques, seront mis en évidence à la surface de catalyseurs, au début des années 60.
« J’admets que l’hydrogène agit sur le métal en donnant très rapidement sur sa surface une combinaison. L’hydrure ainsi engendré est facilement et rapidement dissociable, et s’il est mis en présence de matières capables d’utiliser de l’hydrogène, il le leur cède ne régénérant le métal; qui recommence indéfiniment le même effet ».
Cette explication purement chimique s’opposait à la thèse de Moissan et de Duclaux qui imaginaient une adsorption physique des réactifs sur le catalyseur, mode d’explication, souligne Sabatier, qui laisse en dehors d’elle tous les phénomènes accomplis en système homogène. Il ne doit pas exister « de différences fondamentales entre les divers genres de catalyses ».
La méthode d’hydrogénation directe connut un nombre impressionnant d’applications, particulièrement à l’étranger, à tel point que B. Wojtkowiak fait de Sabatier le « chef de file de l’école moderne de la catalyse hétérogène » [4]. Un exemple à rebondissements mérite d’être évoqué. Dans un brevet déposé en 1915, Sabatier et Maihle avaient indiqué un procédé de cracking catalytique des hydrocarbures, préférable au cracking thermique, et préconisaient l’utilisation de métaux divisés ou d’oxydes capables de les former, associée à une technique de revivification du catalyseur, in situ, par action de la vapeur d’eau. Cette méthode suscitera de très importantes retombées industrielles aux États-Unis et permettra notamment la fabrication d’importantes quantités d’essence qui servira à l’aviation de la seconde guerre mondiale. Il faut cependant compléter le tableau : seul, un pharmacien français s’intéressa au procédé, et c’est un jeune industriel intéressé aux courses automobiles qui réalisa, dans la banlieue parisienne, une unité pilote qui permettra de gagner beaucoup en points d’octane. Cette installation, qui n’intéressa aucun pétrolier de France fut reconstituée aux États-Unis, et le procédé Houdry à lit fixe fut mis en fonctionnement à la raffinerie de Paulsboro, près de Philadelphie. Dès 1936, la Sun Oil fut donc la première compagnie au monde à exploiter une unité de cracking catalytique.
En plus des applications dans l’industrie des pétroles qui connut l’évolution que l’on sait à partir de 1930, la méthode d’hydrogénation de Sabatier eut des retombées importantes dans la grande industrie de synthèse organique, l’industrie des corps gras, les industries dérivées de l’aniline (colorants et pharmacie), les industries dérivées du méthane. En 1944, H.S. Taylor savait saluer Sabatier et la France : « Paul Sabatier eut la gloire de maintenir bien haut parmi les nations le renom scientifique de la France. Hydrogénation des huiles, synthèse du méthanol, éthérification catalytique, synthèse d’amines et de thiols, hydrogénation d’oléfines, toutes les applications modernes de la catalyse aux hydrocarbures proviennent en ligne droite des travaux de Sabatier et de ceux de ses élèves ».
Sabatier le reconnaissait, l’explication par les combinaisons temporaires instables s’appuie sur la considération de produits hypothétiques. Elle a cependant été très féconde, et a permis de prévoir un grand nombre de phénomènes. N’est-ce pas le propre d’une bonne théorie ?

Au début du 20e siècle,

la catalyse progresse de façon essentiellement empirique : BASF testa au moins 2000 catalyseurs au cours de 6000 expériences avant de retenir le catalyseur au fer qui permettra la fabrication industrielle de l’ammoniaque à partir de l’azote de l’atmosphère. La compréhension du phénomène n’avance guère : la théorie des mécanismes purement chimiques de Sabatier, qui s’opposait à la théorie de Moissan de l’adsorption physique des réactifs, dans laquelle les réactifs étaient comprimés et échauffés dans les pores de la masse catalytique, fut critiquée par Ostwald [5]. Peu après, Langmuir publia une théorie de la chimisorption qui prend en compte les conditions physiques [6]. Aucune thèse ne se trouvant suffisamment fondée, il n’était guère possible d’être pris au sérieux quand on s’occupait de catalyse….. Si la plus grande partie des progrès techniques réalisés par la chimie industrielle depuis le début du siècle sont le fruit de la catalyse de contact, les progrès dans la connaissance des phénomènes seront la conséquence d’avancées de la catalyse homogène.

La catalyse a bien du mal à s’imposer comme domaine propre de l’activité scientifique, comme département de l’enseignement ou de la recherche. Car elle repose essentiellement sur le paradoxe, qui lui est constitutif : elle met en oeuvre de nombreux phénomènes qui touchent à la physique, à la chimie dans de multiples secteurs, et d’immenses pans de l’industrie chimique mettent en oeuvre des opérations catalytiques. Ce qui fait que, dans le fond, la catalyse sera mieux traitée en chimie industrielle par l’appréhension des procédés, que dans les traités de chimie physique. ….Bien que Sabatier ait commencé, dès 1927, à publier ses Notes aux C.R. de l’Académie des Sciences sous la rubrique Catalyse, et non plus Chimie organique, la catalyse ne constitue un véritable sujet que dans les années 1950. C’est ainsi que Paul H. Emmett est l’éditeur d’un ouvrage collectif, intitulé Catalysis, dont les deux premiers volumes sont consacrés aux principes fondamentaux et aux théories et de la catalyse homogène et de la catalyse hétérogène [7]. Il le dit en ouverture : même si l’importance et le nombre des procédés catalytiques mis en oeuvre par l’industrie pourraient justifier, à eux seuls, l’édition d’un traité sur la catalyse, ce sont les progrès dans la connaissance de la catalyse qui appellent la publication d’un traité faisant l’état des lieux à ce jour. Certes, la catalyse n’en est pas encore au stade où ses fondements scientifiques seraient fermement établis, les progrès récents, notamment la mise en relation de l’activité d’un solide avec sa structure électronique, permettent de faire un état des lieux de la question scientifique, et de brosser un tableau clair et intelligible de la théorie et la pratique de la catalyse.
….
Le 2ème congrès de catalyse en 1960

Le deuxième Congrès International de Catalyse à Paris en 1960 fut un grand évènement organisé par la France et présidé par Marcel Prettre. Neuf cents scientifiques se réunirent à Paris, venus d’une trentaine de points du monde. Les Actes, publiés en 1961, occuperont près de 3000 pages. Après avoir rappelé les deux groupes de contributions qui ont contribué à faire avancer la connaissance du solide catalytique, Marcel Prettre signale que, malgré certains désaccords entre théorie et expérience, il faut continuer à adapter les techniques d’investigation de l’état solide aux problèmes particuliers de la catalyse : mesures électriques, spectroscopie infrarouge, calorimétrie. Il faut aussi rendre ces mesures efficaces et tenir compte, lors de l’interprétation, de l’extrême variabilité du processus selon le domaine expérimental. Si l’on est encore loin de pouvoir établir une théorie générale de la catalyse de contact, des progrès importants ont été réalisés depuis le précédent Congrès; en particulier dans la connaissance de ces composés bidimensionnels qui constituent l’étape intermédiaire. Décidément la catalyse hétérogène, malgré son extrême complexité, n’est plus si éloignée que cela de la catalyse homogène, ni dans la représentation qu’elle donne des étapes intermédiaires, ni dans l’état des connaissances.